Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (E.Y.F.S) is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Reception year. It is based on the recognition that children learn best through play and active learning.

Website 1.jpgThe EYFS is based on four important themes. These are:

  • Every child is unique
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

Each of the underlying principles is supported by the Reception Teacher and other key adults. It is through these principles and commitments of the EYFS that we base our practise. We believe that children are born ready, able and eager to learn and that they actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. We also believe that development is not an automatic process. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our educational programme as well as important Characteristics of Effective learning. These are all equally important and inter-connected. The Characteristics of Effective Learning support the development of the Unique Child in how children are learning. The ways in which children engage with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS. These are: Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical development.

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. These are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

At Archbishop Hutton's we use ‘Development Matters’ as part of daily observation, assessment and planning.  It is also used at points during the EYFS as a guide to making best-fit summative judgements, with parents and colleagues across agencies, in relation to whether a child is showing typical development, may be at risk of delay or is ahead for their age.


Website 3.jpgWebsite 4.jpgWebsite 5.jpgIn Class One, we follow a two year rolling curriculum. These include themes that we will focus on and learn about. These are closely linked to the themes being taught in KS1 and KS2. We use this curriculum as the first stepping stones in our Archbishop Hutton's journey. Please find out attached curriculum. 

Files to Download

Student Login